The Academy of the Future!
 
HomePortalFAQSearchCalendarMemberlistRegisterLog inUsergroups
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Top posters
vem123
 
Winduct
 
redgar
 
sinakis
 
Terraplant
 
IversonSt3
 
Stef
 
NoobSlayer13
 
Chaos714
 
Harper7000
 
Latest topics
» Chatbox
by IDK Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:50 pm

» Harp
by IDK Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:47 pm

» AGAIN HELLO!
by Blazenjaden5 Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:53 am

» Archlord Kristya(Sychron's worst nightmare)
by CrimsonClimax Fri Aug 10, 2012 4:31 pm

» HELLO
by CrimsonClimax Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:27 pm

» Number 91: Thunder Spark Dragon
by Chaos714 Sun May 27, 2012 2:14 am

» Card of the Week #49
by xemnas night Sat May 26, 2012 8:31 am

» PM.
by sinakis Tue May 22, 2012 12:52 pm

Affiliates

Share | 
 

 Protector of the Sanctuary VS Psi-Impulse

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
sinakis
Ancient Administrator
Ancient Administrator
avatar

Posts : 846
Join date : 2010-06-02
Location : SPAAAAAAAAAAAAAAACE

PostSubject: Protector of the Sanctuary VS Psi-Impulse   Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:25 am

Protector of the Sanctuary
Spoiler:
 

Psi-Impulse
Spoiler:
 

So. There's supposed to be a rulling ( that I can't officialy find anywhere ) that you and your opponent cannot activate a card that forces player A to draw cards, if player B controls a face-up Protector.
Outside of the draw-phase of course.

I also read that a Flip Effect monster that forces player A to draw can be activated, an example being Morphing Jar.

According to that, Psi-Impulse cannot be activated.

Then why ygo-wikia has
Quote :
Use this card while "Protector of the Sanctuary" is in control to stop your opponent from drawing 3 cards.
in "Psi-Impulse" 's tip page?

Guess we can't trust the wikia that much, can we?

( The final question is not about wikia, but about "Protector". )

A final note:
If neither player controls a Protector, and player A activates Psi-Impulse and then chains Call of the Haunted to special summon Protector, the effect will get through and player B won't get to draw cards...right?

________________

The more deadly the lake monster, the shorter the tale.
Right... He was judging his sanity off the reaction of a Duel Monster
Spirit that only HE could see... That made PERFECT sense.
~DGA Chronicles season 1
Back to top Go down
View user profile
e^ipi+1=0
Amateur
Amateur
avatar

Posts : 128
Join date : 2010-11-11

PostSubject: Re: Protector of the Sanctuary VS Psi-Impulse   Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:55 am

any1 can edit wikia(especially the tips, ruling is less abused, since you need to also put a trustworthy source), that's mostly the reason, though, as the time passes, their admin will remove any incorrect statement.

similar with allure of darkness and imperial iron wall
if Protector of the Sanctuary is summoned (for example via call of the haunted) in the same chainlink after card like psi-impulse is activated, then your opponent will not draw.

though,even hand destruction, and call of the haunted is actually enough to pull that trick.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Supreme_King
Intermediate
Intermediate
avatar

Posts : 162
Join date : 2010-11-19
Location : Romania

PostSubject: Re: Protector of the Sanctuary VS Psi-Impulse   Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:56 am

If you have the option to activate or not an effect that would cause your opponent to draw cards, then you can't activate it. If the effect activates because of gameplay mechanics, such as Morphing Jar being flipped, then it carries out without your opponent drawing.

As DarkMatter said, wikia tips aren't trustworthy, just use common sense and, if that isn't enough to solve the issue, ask some guys who are advanced in rulings so they can explain why or why not something can happen.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Stef
Administrator
Administrator
avatar

Posts : 660
Join date : 2010-05-04
Location : Greece

PostSubject: Re: Protector of the Sanctuary VS Psi-Impulse   Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:54 pm

Like DarkMatter said, anyone can edit the wikia, and we don't have a bunch of elves that check every page every single day for mistakes, so there is obviously a chance that there will be some wrong suggestions/tips sometimes.

According to Protector's rulings, the tip is incorrect, except if you chain Call of the Haunted to Psi-Impulse.

IMO, I believe that it was just an incorrect tip.

________________


All kinds of manga/anime fan,
Stef
Back to top Go down
View user profile
sinakis
Ancient Administrator
Ancient Administrator
avatar

Posts : 846
Join date : 2010-06-02
Location : SPAAAAAAAAAAAAAAACE

PostSubject: Re: Protector of the Sanctuary VS Psi-Impulse   Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:13 pm

Thank you :)
Yes any card that makes player A draw cards would be the same (I mean if it's activation is optional), I just mentioned Psi-Impulse because I randomly - and falsely - thought that the cost has something to do with that tip.
I'll edit that out.

Also, I gave Supreme_King a +1 because his answer was exactly what i wanted to learn. :)

Solved and Locked!~

________________

The more deadly the lake monster, the shorter the tale.
Right... He was judging his sanity off the reaction of a Duel Monster
Spirit that only HE could see... That made PERFECT sense.
~DGA Chronicles season 1
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Protector of the Sanctuary VS Psi-Impulse   

Back to top Go down
 
Protector of the Sanctuary VS Psi-Impulse
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Synchro Duel Academy :: Yu-Gi-Oh TCG :: Questions-
Jump to: