The Academy of the Future!
 
HomePortalFAQSearchCalendarMemberlistRegisterLog inUsergroups
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Top posters
vem123
 
Winduct
 
redgar
 
sinakis
 
Terraplant
 
IversonSt3
 
Stef
 
NoobSlayer13
 
Chaos714
 
Harper7000
 
Latest topics
» Chatbox
by IDK Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:50 pm

» Harp
by IDK Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:47 pm

» AGAIN HELLO!
by Blazenjaden5 Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:53 am

» Archlord Kristya(Sychron's worst nightmare)
by CrimsonClimax Fri Aug 10, 2012 4:31 pm

» HELLO
by CrimsonClimax Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:27 pm

» Number 91: Thunder Spark Dragon
by Chaos714 Sun May 27, 2012 2:14 am

» Card of the Week #49
by xemnas night Sat May 26, 2012 8:31 am

» PM.
by sinakis Tue May 22, 2012 12:52 pm

Affiliates

Share | 
 

 The most ridiculous card.

Go down 
AuthorMessage
e^ipi+1=0
Amateur
Amateur
avatar

Posts : 128
Join date : 2010-11-11

PostSubject: The most ridiculous card.   Wed Jan 26, 2011 8:28 pm

http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_of_Sacrifice



Quote :
Draw 2 cards, if the combined ATK of all your face-up Attack Position monsters (minimum 2) is less than the ATK of your opponent's face-up monster with the lowest ATK. You cannot Summon or change Battle Position the turn you activate this card.

bad translation is BAAAD!!! misinterpretation will make this card a trap version of "pot of greed"...8D
Pravinoz wrote:
Sigh, I guess someone wasn't being paid enough...
you might interpret it:
Spoiler:
 

though, this is how it should be read:
Spoiler:
 


Last edited by e^ipi+1=0 on Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:59 am; edited 5 times in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Shock
Amateur
Amateur
avatar

Posts : 140
Join date : 2010-07-03
Location : Greece

PostSubject: Re: The most ridiculous card.   Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:56 pm

Holy cow,I am just gonna order 5 copies of this card right now,it's epicly overpowered and it can be activated any time you wanna
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Terraplant
Intermediate
Intermediate
avatar

Posts : 758
Join date : 2010-05-04
Location : Hugging Creepers from Minecraft

PostSubject: Re: The most ridiculous card.   Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:08 am

I want to bitchslap the translator so bad...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
synchrowarrior318
Amateur
Amateur
avatar

Posts : 99
Join date : 2010-12-13
Location : Australia

PostSubject: Re: The most ridiculous card.   Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:46 am

i know how you feel terra
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.youtube.com/user/SynchroWarrior318
NoobSlayer13
Amateur
Amateur
avatar

Posts : 627
Join date : 2010-06-06
Location : In your mind!!

PostSubject: Re: The most ridiculous card.   Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:58 am

hahahah its so rediculus indeed :P
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://mdacademy.darkbb.com/index.htm
Harper7000
Amateur
Amateur
avatar

Posts : 560
Join date : 2010-06-15
Location : United States

PostSubject: Re: The most ridiculous card.   Thu Jan 27, 2011 7:13 am

I don't get it...what's the difference between the two, can someone explain? I'm tired so that's probably why I don't get it haha
Back to top Go down
View user profile
e^ipi+1=0
Amateur
Amateur
avatar

Posts : 128
Join date : 2010-11-11

PostSubject: Re: The most ridiculous card.   Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:12 am

the false interpretation would make you think that
after drawing 2 card,
the consequences of having total atk of your monster is < your opponent's lowest atk is that you can't change battle position and declare an attack.

the correct one is:
draw 2 card happens if total atk of your monster < your opponent's lowest atk monster.
also you can't change battle position and declare an attack.

well that happens if you mistaken the comma and period.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Tyann
New Member
New Member
avatar

Posts : 88
Join date : 2010-12-11
Location : Atlantis The True Paradise

PostSubject: Re: The most ridiculous card.   Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:26 am

It will become a limited card shortly.
Its effect is Draw 2 card...... Without any problem..... although i like draw so much in my game, but this card is so perfect. The second effect is vanished if its activated in my opponents turn, rite? except u have Vader or Gorz in ur hand?
Try to compare it with Card of Sancity which having nearly same art works with this card. The consecuences is RFG all cards u Control and Hand, xD. Its completely different, though.


Last edited by Tyann on Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:56 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Winduct
Moderator
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 1428
Join date : 2010-06-11
Location : Greece

PostSubject: Re: The most ridiculous card.   Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:38 am

Now I get it. It's the comma's fault. This card was released on October 16 2010 so it may enter the March banlists.

________________
Won 2 SDA Annual Awards . Another 18 wins and 30 nominations

Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.youtube.com/user/Winduct
Stef
Administrator
Administrator
avatar

Posts : 660
Join date : 2010-05-04
Location : Greece

PostSubject: Re: The most ridiculous card.   Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:01 pm

They are gonna change the errata if it's not clear enough.

However, it is wrong to even think that this card lets you draw 2 cards without a requirement, since then the effect would not make any sense.

First of all, there is an "if" between the draw 2 cards and the requirement. If you separate those two, the only thing that will remain will be : "if the combined ATK ... with the lowest ATK."

As we all (I assume) know, a statement that begins with "if" must contain a "then" or a comma after the condition the "if" states.

We can say :

"If my mother buys a cake, I will eat it"
"If eat the cake then my mother won't buy me any cookies"
"I will not survive if I don't eat any cookies" (This is the case of this card's effect, but they added a comma which makes it easy to misinterpret)

We cannot say :

"If my mother buys a cake. I will eat it"

The dot ends the statement, and if the statement ends like that, it is incorrect.


What I'm trying to say is that if someone misinterprets this card, you can just prove him by showing him a certificate that proves you know English. Normally, it wouldn't need any change in the errata, but if people can't understand what this card actually does, then they'll probably do it. If they just remove the comma between the "Draw 2 cards" and the "if bla bla", or just reverse the order and put the requirement first and THEN the effect, it would be a lot harder to NOT understand what it does.

________________


All kinds of manga/anime fan,
Stef
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Chaos714
New Member
New Member
avatar

Posts : 622
Join date : 2010-06-13
Location : Behind You :)

PostSubject: Re: The most ridiculous card.   Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:35 pm

Lol. Pretty ridiculous card indeed. x]

Btw:

Quote :
Draw 2 cards

Ok. That's interesting... o.0
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.youtube.com/user/Arxidia36
Stef
Administrator
Administrator
avatar

Posts : 660
Join date : 2010-05-04
Location : Greece

PostSubject: Re: The most ridiculous card.   Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:50 am

Chaos714 wrote:
Lol. Pretty ridiculous card indeed. x]

Btw:

Quote :
Draw 2 cards

Ok. That's interesting... o.0

Did you even read DarkMatter's or my post? ;\

________________


All kinds of manga/anime fan,
Stef
Back to top Go down
View user profile
death-coder
New Member
New Member
avatar

Posts : 100
Join date : 2010-12-28

PostSubject: Re: The most ridiculous card.   Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:04 am

oh what a great sacrifice ... draw 2 cards XD ... fader games can go well with this one
Back to top Go down
View user profile
iNoobishh
New Member
New Member
avatar

Posts : 118
Join date : 2010-12-17
Location : Neverland.

PostSubject: Re: The most ridiculous card.   Sat Jan 29, 2011 11:28 am

I like it this way! Don't change it damn KONAMI. =] It would be pretty good with exodia decks, but all decks would have this boost anyway..

@ Stef:
 
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: The most ridiculous card.   

Back to top Go down
 
The most ridiculous card.
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Synchro Duel Academy :: Yu-Gi-Oh TCG :: Card Discussions :: OCG/TCG Card Discussions-
Jump to: